The Government House


The public can view the Government House only twice a year.  Visiting it is like visiting the Buckingham Palace to see how the Queen lives.

IMG_6503

The Government House can be found in the heart of the Perth City.  It has an extensive history which starts with Governor Stirling back in 1839 and ends with the current location of house.

IMG_6366

The Open Day tour starts with a walk through the magnificent gardens.  This is the home of Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AO.  I could not help but wonder if she ever had the time to wonder through the  garden, swim in the pool or even just sit momentarily to reflect on her journey to that very point.  I later learnt that she walks the gardens every morning with her dog.

IMG_6505

The property was well guarded with armed forced and house staff.  I could just envisioned the protocol, together with detail meetings, going over every scenario and curve ball that could be imagined.

IMG_6354 - Copy

Besides the array of vintage cars and outdoor activities, the Open Day was magnificently coordinated with indoor activities that would only have many stop in awe … if only for a minute.

IMG_6493

IMG_6390

As one wandered through the house, one could not help but imagine whose footsteps walked the halls. From Kings, Queen, Princess and Princesses to prime ministers, ministers and governors – these floors and carpets had trails left over hundreds of years.

IMG_6414

If walls could talk, I wonder what stories they would say as the elite discuss everything and nothing all within the same breath of the day?  I further wondered if most of the rooms were displayed purposefully for the average person to see, or was this how the rooms were set for day in to day out.

IMG_6420

IMG_6421

One of the more famous features of the house is the living room which was lined with royal photos.  Everything seemed to be perfectly in place and every placed seemed to have the perfect thing.  Yet, I once again wondered, is this really how the governor and the royals would enjoy an evening dinner?  Would these photos be displayed in the same manner or would more meaningful paintings of grandeur take their place.

IMG_6425 IMG_6424

The stairway to Her Excellency rooms was closed off.  At the top of the stairs was a display of a magnificent stained glass artwork.  I was instructed to take a photo with the chandelier but unfortunately I found this experience to ruin the whole display. [what are your thoughts?]

IMG_6445

The trail soon took us through the State Secretary office.  There was a desk with a small dinning table ready for guest.  Once again, is this always prepared in this fashion – or was it just on display for the open day.

IMG_6447

My attention was soon drawn to the  shelves decorated with an array of books.  I always believe that a bookshelf can tell you a lot bout a person.  Of course I could not have a proper look but I was given permission to take a photo of some books dating back to the 40’s.  Of course I could not help but question when the state secretary was last in ‘office’ as the calendar was set on the date of 09 February 2016!  Then again – we are in the technology era so why need a paper diary to keep you in the loop of state matters!!!!

IMG_6448

A day of this nature could not finish without a proper English ceremonial tea and sandwiches.  Of course I would have preferred a scone but they were all sold out.  Imagine that!

IMG_6511 IMG_6508 IMG_6507

I made my final rounds through the gardens taking snap shots of roses that were perfectly in bloom.  I knew how hard it is to ensure a perfect bloom, so I quietly congratulated the people responsible for the outdoor display of spectacular fauna.

IMG_6434

While I could write many more lines to describe my experience, I can only say this.  An event like this is well worth the visit.  Of course, if you are like me, and wonder if everything is in its place for a purpose, then take the time to see the next Open Day!  Of course compare photos – and let me know!  Is this the real thing – or is it just for show! Enjoy!

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Government House”

    1. Yes it is amazing. Of course one cannot put all the photos up – but it is well worth the visit. Thanks for the compliment on detail! I just like looking at the things in depth – and possibly answering questions people may want to ask but don’t! LOL BTW – You have an amazing blog.

  1. Thanks to the Government House who answered my very important question: “Is everything in its place like this every day or is this just done for the public?” The answer is:

    “In answer to your question, Government House does look like that for the most part and we have a small, but very dedicated team, who maintain the House and its surrounds in perfect condition.”

    Congrats to a very professional team! Your work was appreciated by myself and many more – I am sure! Thank You!

Leave a Reply

